Getting a cdl in Mississippi

Getting your CDL in Mississippi

To get a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Mississippi, you need to follow a few steps. First, you must have a valid Mississippi driver’s license and be at least 18 years old to drive intrastate (within Mississippi) or 21 years old to drive interstate (across state lines).

Next, you will need to obtain a copy of the Mississippi Commercial Driver’s Manual and study it thoroughly. You can download a copy of the manual from the Mississippi Department of Public Safety website.

After studying the manual, you will need to take a written knowledge test at a Mississippi Department of Public Safety Driver License Office. The test will cover general knowledge, air brakes, combination vehicles, and hazardous materials.

Once you pass the written test, you will need to obtain a commercial learner’s permit (CLP) by passing a skills test consisting of a pre-trip inspection, basic vehicle control, and on-road driving.

Finally, after obtaining a CLP, you will need to pass a road skills test in the type of commercial vehicle you plan to drive.

The cost of getting a CDL in Mississippi varies depending on several factors such as your age, type of CDL, endorsements required, and fees for each step of the process. Generally, the cost for obtaining a CDL in Mississippi ranges from $60 to $100.

To obtain a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Mississippi, you will need to follow a process that involves meeting certain requirements, completing training, passing written and practical exams, and paying the necessary fees. Please note that the information provided is based on the knowledge available up until September 2021, and there may have been updates or changes since then. It’s always best to consult the official website of the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) for the most accurate and up-to-date information.

Here is a general outline of the CDL process in Mississippi:

1. Determine the CDL Class: Mississippi offers several classes of CDL, including Class A, Class B, and Class C, depending on the type of vehicle you plan to operate.

2. Eligibility Requirements: Ensure you meet the basic requirements set by the Mississippi DPS. You must be at least 18 years old for an intrastate CDL (within Mississippi) or 21 years old for an interstate CDL (across state lines). You must have a valid regular driver’s license, provide proof of citizenship or legal presence in the United States, and have a valid social security number.

3. Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP): Before obtaining a CDL, you will need to obtain a CLP. To obtain a CLP, you must pass a written knowledge test specific to the class of CDL you are seeking. The test covers topics such as general knowledge, air brakes (if applicable), combination vehicles (if applicable), and any endorsements you may need. You must also pass a vision screening.

4. CDL Training: Consider enrolling in a CDL training program at a commercial driving school or a community college. These programs provide hands-on training and help you prepare for the CDL skills test.

5. Skills Test: Once you have obtained your CLP and completed your training, you can schedule an appointment with the Mississippi DPS to take the CDL skills test. The skills test typically includes a pre-trip inspection, basic vehicle control, and an on-road driving test.

6. Endorsements: If you plan to operate vehicles with additional features or requirements, such as carrying hazardous materials, transporting passengers, or driving a tanker, you may need to obtain specific endorsements. Endorsements require additional written tests and possibly additional skills tests.

7. Fees: The fees associated with obtaining a CDL in Mississippi may vary. As of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021, the base fee for a CDL in Mississippi is $55. This fee includes the skills test. Additionally, there may be additional fees for endorsements, such as $6 for the hazardous materials endorsement. These fees are subject to change, so it’s best to check the Mississippi DPS website or contact their office directly for the most current fee information.

It’s important to note that additional costs may arise, such as those related to CDL training programs, medical examinations, and background checks.

For the most accurate and up-to-date information on CDL requirements and fees in Mississippi, please refer to the official website of the Mississippi Department of Public Safety or contact their office directly.

New Commercial Driver License: Class A, B, and C


Online CDL Medical Card Submission

Submit your medical card electronically.

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) medical card waiver has expired. To avoid suspension, you will need to update your Commercial Driver License (CDL) medical card by April 15, 2022. Click here for more details. 


CDL Help Desk: 601-391- 4217

NOTE: Beginning February 7, 2022, to be eligible to take required skills or knowledge tests, first time commercial driver’s license (CDL) applicants must have completed applicable Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) from a registered training provider listed on FMCSA’s Training Provider Registry at

FMCSA’s Entry Level Driver Training regulations set the baseline for training requirements for entry-level drivers. This includes those applying for a:

  • Skills test for obtaining a Class A or Class B CDL for the first time;
  • Skills test for upgrading a Class B CDL to a Class A CDL; 
  • Skills test for obtaining a passenger (P) or school bus (S) endorsement for the first time; and 
  • Knowledge test for obtaining a hazardous materials endorsement for the first time

The ELDT regulations are not retroactive; individuals who were issued a CDL or an S, P, or H endorsement prior to February 7, 2022, are not required to complete training for the respective CDL or endorsement.

If an applicant who obtains a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) prior to February 7, 2022, obtains a CDL before the CLP or renewed CLP expires, the applicant is not subject to the ELDT requirements.

Any individual who meets one of the exceptions for taking a skills test in 49 CFR Part 383 is also exempt from the ELDT requirements. 

Click here for Entry-Level Driver Training Requirements for CDL Applicants 

Click here for questions regarding the FMCSA’s training registry

New CDL License Class A, B, and C

  1. Class A – Any Combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more or towing a vehicle with a GVWR of 10,001 pounds or more.

  2. Class B – Any Single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more.

  3. Class C – Any Single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 26,001 pounds.

       a. Vehicles designed to transport sixteen or more passengers, including the driver.

          b. Vehicles used in the transportation of hazardous materials which are required to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act. Such vehicles requiring Hazmat Endorsement, Hazmat and Tanker, and Passenger vehicles transporting sixteen or more passengers such as school buses.


All applicants must provide the following:

Commercial License Endorsements:

  • H – Authorizes the driver to drive a vehicle transporting Hazardous Materials

  • T – Authorizes driving doubles and triple trailers

  • P – Authorizes driving vehicles carrying passengers

  • N – Authorizes driving Tank vehicles

  • X – Represents a combination of hazardous materials and tank vehicle endorsements

  • S – Authorizes the driver to drive school buses being operated for the purpose of transporting pupils to and from school or to school related functions.


Trucking Schools In Mississippi