Getting your CDL In New Hampshire

Getting your CDL In New Hampshire

Getting your Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in New Hampshire involves several steps and requirements. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to obtain your CDL in New Hampshire:

1. Determine Your Eligibility:

  • You must be at least 18 years old to apply for an intrastate (within New Hampshire) CDL.
  • To operate a commercial vehicle in interstate commerce (crossing state lines), you must be at least 21 years old.

2. Obtain a Commercial Driver’s License Manual:

  • You can obtain a copy of the New Hampshire Commercial Driver’s License Manual from the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website or a local DMV office. This manual contains essential information for the CDL written tests.

3. Choose Your CDL Class and Endorsements:

  • Decide which class of CDL you need (e.g., Class A, B, or C) and any endorsements (e.g., tanker, hazmat) required for your desired job.

4. Self-Certify Your Type of Driving:

  • Determine whether you plan to drive intrastate or interstate and self-certify your type of driving with the DMV.

5. Obtain a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP):

  • Visit your local DMV office and submit the following:
    • A completed Commercial Driver License Application (Form DSMV 312).
    • Proof of identity (e.g., passport, birth certificate).
    • Proof of Social Security Number (e.g., Social Security card).
    • Proof of New Hampshire residency (e.g., utility bill, rental agreement).
    • A completed Medical Examination Report (Form MCSA-5876) and a valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate (DOT physical).
    • Payment of the required fees.

6. Pass the CDL General Knowledge Test:

  • You’ll need to pass the CDL General Knowledge written test at the DMV office to obtain your CLP.

7. Obtain Additional Endorsements (if needed):

  • If your desired job requires endorsements (e.g., tanker, hazmat), you’ll need to pass the corresponding written tests.

8. Practice Driving:

  • With your CLP in hand, you can practice driving a commercial vehicle. You must be accompanied by a CDL holder with the appropriate class and endorsements.

9. Schedule and Pass the CDL Skills Test:

  • Contact a third-party testing facility or the DMV to schedule your skills test, which includes a pre-trip vehicle inspection, basic control skills, and a road test.
  • Successfully pass all parts of the skills test to obtain your full CDL.

10. Pay the CDL License Fee: – Pay the required fee for your CDL license.

11. Receive Your CDL: – After completing all requirements and paying the fees, you’ll receive your CDL.

12. Maintain Your CDL: – Keep your CDL current by adhering to New Hampshire DMV regulations, including renewing your CDL and undergoing periodic medical examinations as required.

Please note that New Hampshire’s CDL requirements and procedures may change, so it’s essential to visit the New Hampshire DMV website or contact your local DMV office for the most up-to-date information on CDL requirements and procedures.

Trucking Schools In New Hampshire